HPXML Working Group

HPXML is managed by a diverse group of stakeholders from the residential energy efficiency industry through an open and consensus based process set by the Building Performance Institute, a nonprofit standards setting organization.

HPXML has been developed, and is modified and maintained, by the stakeholders who use the standard, including organizations and individuals from residential energy efficiency programs, software development, government, research, and the nonprofit sector.

The HPXML Working Group provides input into the development of the HPXML schema, as well as votes to approve new versions of the standards, with oversight from the BPI Data and Modeling Standards Technical Committee, using an open and consensus based decision-making process set by the BPI. 

Participation in the working group is voluntary and open to all organizations and individuals interested in HPXML. The working group meets quarterly.

To learn more about the standards development process, visit the BPI website.


Chair: Julie Caracino, Home Performance Coalition
Vice Chair: Noel Merket, National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Members (in alphabetical order):

Adam Stenftenagel, Snugg Home
Alice Rosenberg, Consortium for Energy Efficiency
Bill Keating, New York State Energy Research and Development Authority
Brandon Gallagher, Covelotech
Chris Baker, Arizona Public Service
Chris Jones, Greater Cincinnati Energy Alliance
Chris Lane, ICF International
Dale Hoffmeyer, Department of Energy
Dan Chartier, Hancock Software
David Alspector, Navigant
David Bednarski, Energy Web Solutions
Ely Jacobsohn, Department of Energy
Erik Cathcart, Earth Advantage
Evan Roz, CLEAResult
Gamaliel Lodge, OptiMiser
Glenn Dicky, SRA International
Jeff Farlow, Pentair
Kate Butcher, EnergySavvy
Kelly Hedges, ICF International
Kevin Powell, Red Horse Corporation
Liz Visconti, EnergySavvy
Mark Lane, Energy Design Systems
Milt Matter, Pearl Home Certification
Paul Matthew, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Rebecca Hudson, Environmental Protection Agency
Rich Andrulis, Performance Systems Development
Rob Hitchcock, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Ryan Moore, OptiMiser
Steven Klass, Pivotal Energy Solutions
Ted Kidd, One Knob Consulting
Terry Rother, Salt River Project
Torsten Glidden, Build it Green